Facebook is the world’s leading social network with roughly about 2.93 billion monthly active users. Over the years Facebook’s reputation has taken a number of hits with privacy, fake news, and fraud playing a big part. There are so many reasons why you would want to delete your Facebook account. Here, we will teach you how you can delete your Facebook account.
Facebook provides you with two options when you want to get rid of your Facebook account i.e. deactivating your Facebook account or permanently deleting your Facebook account.
Facebook account deactivation is different from Facebook account deletion. Deactivation is temporarily shutting down your Facebook account for a while, it is like taking a break from the platform. When you deactivate your account, your profile on Facebook and your timeline on Facebook will disappear. Facebook will not permanently delete your account on the platform so that you can be able o reactivate it later.
On the other hand, when you delete your Facebook account, your profile, timeline and all your data on Facebook will permanently be erased from the platform. Note that you can’t be able to reactivate your Facebook account after deleting it. Also, any app or platform connected to your Facebook will need to be recovered with those platforms.
But before deleting your Facebook account, you can be able to log in and download a copy of your Facebook data (like your photos and videos) from Facebook. After deleting our account, you won’t be able to retrieve any of your data on Facebook as it will be permanently wiped out.
If you are okay with the above terms and conditions, simply follow the step by step below to delete your Facebook account.
How To Permanently Delete Facebook Account With Your Web Browser
STEP 1- Lunch your web browser, go to www.facebook.com and log in with the Facebook account you wish to delete.
STEP 2- After you log in to the account, look at the top right corner of your screen, you will see an arrow pointing down, click on the arrow. Doing this, Facebook will pull out a drop-down menu with your account settings.
STEP 3- Click on “Settings & Privacy” with is on the drop-down menu.
STEP 4- Click on “settings” or the gear icon.
STEP 5- Under the “Settings” tab on the left side of the page, select “Your Facebook Information”.
STEP 6- Select “Deactivation and Deletion”. At this stage, you can be able to download your Facebook data if you want to.
STEP 7- Facebook will display two options for you to choose one. The two options are “Deactivate Account” and “Delete Account”. Since you want to permanently delete your account, you have to choose the “Delete Account” option by ticking on the ring-like icon beside the “Delete Account” option. At this point, you can alternatively select “Deactivate Account” if you want to disable your Facebook account temporarily. After deactivating your account, you can still be able to reactivate your Facebook account using Messenger.
STEP 8– After you tick on the ring icon beside “Delete Account”, proceed by clicking on “Continue to account deletion”.
STEP 9- Continue by clicking on “Delete Account”. At this stage, you will have your last chance to download a copy of your Facebook account data if you want to.
STEP 10- Your Facebook account password will be required to continue. So enter your correct Facebook account password and click “Continue”.
Now you’ve successfully deleted your Facebook account permanently.
What Happens When you Permanently Delete Your Facebook Account?
Yes, it is very important for you to know what happens after deleting your Facebook account. Just read below.
- You will not be able to reactivate your Facebook account again after deleting it.
- All your, posts, videos, photos, and everything else you uploaded on Facebook with the account will permanently be deleted along with your Facebook profile. You won’t be able to retrieve them after deleting your Facebook account.
- You will no longer have access to or be able to use Facebook Messenger with the deleted Facebook account.
- You may have signed up for other apps or websites using your Facebook account, but you will not be able to log in to those apps or sites using your deleted Facebook account again. To regain access to your account with those apps or websites, you will have to contact the app or website.
- After deleting your Facebook account, messages and conversations with your friends may still be visible to them, as the conversations with your friends and messages you sent to them are being stored in their inboxes.
- The pages that have only you as the admin will also be deleted alongside your Facebook account. But if you don’t want your page to be deleted alongside your Facebook account, you can give someone else access and full control of your page by making them the page admin. Note that you can only do this before deleting your Facebook account.
- You will not be able to access Oculus Products or your Oculus information using your Facebook account after deleting it. Your Oculus information will also be deleted when you delete your Facebook account. You will lose your existing store credits.
What happens when you deactivate your Facebook account?
Now if you don’t want all your posts, photos or videos to be deleted, but you want to take a break from Facebook. Here are what you should know before proceeding:
- Your Facebook profile and timeline will temporarily not be visible to people after deactivating your Facebook account.
- All your photos, posts and everything else you uploaded on Facebook will not be deleted but they will not be visible to people until you reactivate your Facebook account.
- After deactivating your account, you can still be able to use Facebook messenger. People can still view your account profile picture in your conversation with them. Your friends can still search for you by your name and send you messages on Facebook messenger.
- When you deactivate your Facebook account, you will not be able to access Oculus Products or your Oculus information using your Facebook account.
- The pages that have only you as the admin will also be deactivated alongside your Facebook account. People cannot view or search and find your page on Facebook. But if you don’t want your page to be deactivated alongside your Facebook account, you can give someone else access and full control of your page by making them the page admin. Note that you can only do this before deactivating your Facebook account.
- You can reactivate your Facebook account whenever you want to.
FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions)
Can I cancel my Facebook account deletion?
Ans- Yes, you can cancel your Facebook account deletion only if it has been less than 30 days since you deleted your Facebook account. After 30 days of your Facebook account deletion, your Facebook account and all your Facebook contents will be deleted permanently and you cannot recover any of your information after that.
How do I cancel my Facebook account deletion?
Ans- Just log into Facebook with your already deleted Facebook account. That is only when it is not more than 30 days of deleting your account. After the login, click on “Cancel Deletion”.